Orders of Recognition

Organization History

NIU History

Membership to Date



Chi Alpha Epsilon was formed to recognize the academic achievements of students admitted to colleges and universities through non-traditional criteria who utilize developmental educational support services. Its purposes are to promote continued high academic standards, to foster increased communication among its members, and to honor academic excellence achieved by those students admitted to college through developmental programs. The involvement of eligible alumni enables networking for members. Programs sponsored by the society encourage other students toward this accomplishment.

The honor society also has the potential to be a significant political force in the support of funding for developmental studies nationwide.


Membership in Chi Alpha Epsilon is offered to students at Northern Illinois University who were admitted through the CHANCE program . Full-time students who hold a 3.00 cumulative GPA for two consecutive semesters are eligible for membership. Eligible students will receive a letter of invitation in the semester after the qualifying semester.


Chi Alpha Epsilon Members, once inducted, are eligible for recognition in the organization's special orders, honoring those students who exemplify the mission of the organization by maintaining excellence in academics.

The Order of the Ruby Key recognizes those students who achieve a semester GPA of 3.50 to 3.74.

The Order of the Emerald Key recognizes those students who achieve a semester GPA of 3.75 to 3.99.

The Order of the Diamond Key, XAE's highest honor, recognizes those students with a semester GPA of 4.00.


Founded at West Chester University of Pennsylvania, Chi Alpha Epsilon was organized in 1990, responding to an increasing need to acknowledge the success of students in their Academic Development Program, a special admission program for the University.

Organized by Dr. Elbert Saddler, a psychologist at West Chester, students and alumni were brought together and inducted as founding members of the organization. Click here for more information about the National Chapter of Chi Alpha Epsilon.


In the Spring of 1997, Dr. Shevawn Eaton, Director of ACCESS in Educational Services and Programs (ESP) at NIU was introduced to Chi Alpha Epsilon at a national conference and brought the society to CHANCE. Eligible students were identified and invited to join as founding members.

On December 10, 1997, Dr. Saddler came to NIU and inducted the founding members of the Alpha Eta Chapter, the 31st chapter, and the first in Illinois. University President John LaTourette was in attendance to accept the Charter for the University. The Charter document now resides in the CHANCE lobby in Williston Hall.




Jarvis Houston, President

Andrea de la Torre, Vice President

Ravindra Jayara, Secretary

Ashanti Thomas, Treasurer

 Paris Branton

Jin Jeong

Shannon Joiner

Elizabeth Mayer

Brandi McHugh

Tania Moumji

Betsy Oommen

Honorary Members:

Shevawn Eaton

Leroy Mitchell

Admasu Zike


Founding members and friends at the Charter Ceremony, December 1997.

 Contact Information:

Sharece Johnson email


121 Williston Hall East,

Northern Illinois University

DeKalb, IL 60115


Back to the ESP Main Page